About Us

  • About Us
    +1 843.746.8106
Evotherm411's items Go to Evotherm411's photostream

« Next week NAPA | Main | Coldest of the Year? »

April 01, 2013

California sets WMA specifications

Caltrans recently published the latest warm mix asphalt update to their specifications. The Standard Specifications are revised to allow the Contractor to utilize WMA technologies in all projects. The Contractor can select a WMA technology from the approved list (which includes Evotherm) and must meet the material and placement requirements of HMA. Contractors in California no longer need special permission through a change order to use WMA. Highlights of the revised specification include:

  • Defining WMA as asphalt produced at temperatures no greater than 275 F.
  • Specifying procedures for evaluating the foaming characteristics of asphalt binders for use with mechanical foam technologies
  • Requiring WMA technology representatives on-site only during the first 3 days of placement.
  • Requiring Hamburg Wheel Rut Testing and T283 testing during the project.

The revisions can be found at http://www.dot.ca.gov/hq/esc/oe/standards.php under Revised Standard Specifications (RSS).

Author: Brandon Milar


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.


  • Enter your email address below to subscribe for updates.


  • Jason Bausano Ryan Bragg Lance Brooks Will Cabell Everett Crews Heather Dolan Dean Frailey Tejash Gandhi Jason Mapes, Quality Jonathan Maclver Jenna Michael Mike O'Leary Bryan Pecht